Roll The Tape

In this day of rapidly developing technology, it is fast becoming a curiosity to see remnants of the old ways.  I was in a Family Dollar and saw that they still had VHS video cassettes for sale two for seven dollars.  The first thought I had was “gee, that sounds expensive,” followed up with “who still buys video tapes?”
My mother was a video tape archivist.  She still has cardboard boxes full of VHS tapes of shows she recorded from back in the 80s.  She had them stored in book cases for years along with tapes of movies she bought at the store before she started buying DVDs and Blue Rays.  She still has the VCRs plugged in and still records some things to tape for permanent storage.  For daily recording, she, like most people, uses a DVR, but she still has that collection of cassettes.
I built quite the collection of tapes myself over the years.  I still have several of those VHS tapes in storage somewhere.  In the bottoms of cabinets, in boxes in the garage, in plastic organizer totes shoved under beds in guest rooms, they sit waiting in futility for a day when they might again see the tape player.
I still have a VHS tape recorder.  It probably still works.  I wouldn’t know.  It’s sitting on the floor next to my desk from the last time I plugged it in to transfer a video tape to digital storage.  I cannot remember the last time I bought a video tape.  It would have to be around 1994 or so.  Zorro, the Gay Blade was the title, I think.  It is one of my favorite movies; one that I can still quote from beginning to end and my sister, Diane, and I both bought a copy when it went on sale.  That was the movie I was digitizing the last time I used the VCR.
I DVR everything now.  I even built my own DVR out of a computer to make it easier to record four shows at once.  Now most providers can do that, but when I built mine four years ago, it was not so common.  The DVR is so ubiquitous that it is almost surprising to run into people who don’t have one.
I was in an elderly neighbor’s house this morning; he was having a problem with his cable and the technician was going to fix it for him.  He had an old pre-HD reverse-projection TV and a cable box that was plugged into a VCR.  He still used the VCR to record his shows from the cable box.  He had tapes across the top of his TV and his living room was littered with unlabeled VHS cassettes.  I was standing in awe of what I was seeing when it hit me: this is the guy that still buys video tapes from stores like Family Dollar. 
I’m not sure Wal Mart even stocks VHS anymore.  The cable tech was trying to explain DVR to the guy, but he wasn’t interested in a new way to record his shows, because it wouldn’t be permanent.  This guy has his tapes and his VCR and he’s good to go.  He doesn’t want the new tech.
The mind boggles.  At least now I know who still buys tapes.

2 Comments

Filed under Personal, Society, Technology

2 responses to “Roll The Tape

  1. That’s actually fairly pricey for a VHS given the explosion of the population of the $5 DVD bin at walmart. Do they release new movies on VHS still? Or were they older films?

    Like

Leave a Reply

